Safe boating is fun boating. From the person on the personal watercraft, the fisherman in an outboard, a wake boarder behind a wakeboat or the skipper in a family cruiser. The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
is holding a boater education course
. Topics include boating law, safety equipment, rules of the road, hunting and fishing, water-skiing, river boating and other boating tips.
It’s the law…
a person at least 13 years of age
or born on or after September 1, 1993
may operate WITHOUT SUPERVISION ONLY
if he or she has PASSED a boater education course,
the following vessels:
- A powerboat powered by a motor of more than 15 horsepower or...
- A personal watercraft or...
- A windblown vessel over 14 feet in length
Kids are welcome. The test is designed for adults, but middle school and high school kids do fine. Younger kids could come with a parent and just sit in, and decide at the end of the day whether they want to try the test.
An on-site boat safety inspection is also planned on the same day. You do not have to take the boating safety class to have your boat inspected. Folks can trailer in their boats for a no-cost, no-fault safety inspection or come by water to the FOR Community Center dock. There is no fine or penalty for not passing, the boat owner gets a checklist of what needs to be corrected, and the USCG AUX will then arrange to complete the inspection at a later date.
Class fee is $25 payable to U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary and $15 for each additional family member. The Texas Safe Boating card, $10 payable to Texas Parks & Wildlife for those passing the USCG Aux test at the end of class. Lunch is free donated by Friends of the River San Bernard.